The Annual Excellence Awards have been a highlight on the Association’s event calendar since 2013.

The Excellence Awards recognise and celebrate the success of bookkeepers and their businesses, and play an important role in raising awareness of our profession within New Zealand. 

It remains vitally important that we celebrate the success of our fellow bookkeepers and provide them with the recognition they deserve. By recognising the achievements of our peers, we are all contributing to not only building the brand of our successful nominees, but also promoting the professionalism of bookkeeping to the public.

Entries are open early each year with winners announced at the Awards and Gala Dinner evening following #Bookkeepcon.   

2024 Gala Award Dinner


James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor


When: Saturday 27th July from 6:30pm - 11pm 

Award Categories

In 2022 the Award Categories were refined to align with our membership structure and to focus on the themes that have seen previous winners thrive and become leaders in our industry. 

These awards offer every bookkeeper and bookkeeping business in New Zealand an invaluable opportunity to raise more awareness of the important work they are doing to support business in New Zealand and position themselves as the best in the industry when they take home the award.

The 2024 member award categories are:

  • Bookkeeper of the Year
  • Bookkeeping Business of the Year
  • Bookkeeping Trainer of the Year - Gayle Buchanan Memorial Trophy
  • Bookkeeping Employee of the Year
  • Emerging Bookkeeper of the Year
  • Service to Bookkeeping Award
  • Sustainable Business of the Year
  • Community Contributor of the Year

Download the category criteria >

Award entries for 2024 are now OPEN! 

Applications close 5pm 16th June 2024.

Entry guidelines

The Excellence Awards are open to individual and business members of ICNZB in their dedicated categories.  There is no charge to enter. 

Nominations for awards are to be submitted by the bookkeeper themselves, with the exception of the peer nominated Service to Bookkeeping Award.  We recommend you read the criteria thoroughly prior to submitting an entry to ensure the entry is valid. 

All entries will be checked for validity by the organising team before being accepted. 

Entry confidentiality

For the award process to be effective, there must be unquestionable fairness and objectivity for all concerned.

  • All awards entry documentation and entry forms are treated as confidential to the Executive Administrator and Judges.
  • Applicants are not expected to provide or reveal, proprietary information regarding products, processes or services.
  • The Executive Administrator will remain impartial to the submissions and scores from the independent judges
  • Judges will be asked to declare any conflicts of interest and if necessary alternative judging arrangements will be made.
  • Each judge has volunteered their time without compensation and is committed to assist with the success of the awards.
  • Judging decisions remain confidential to judges and no correspondence will be entered into regarding the outcome of the awards.

Download the Nomination form >

The Judging process and panel

Once the entry period has closed, our judges will receive all award submissions and allocate a score of 1-10 for each question based on two key areas:

  • The information provided to the questions
  • The relevance of the answer to the award category

 The individual judges are responsible for determining the score allocation for each question and returning their scoresheet to the Executive Administrator.  The scores for each question from each judge are then totaled by the Executive Administrator. The final total will determine the winner and this person will be announced at the Awards and Gala Dinner evening following our annual conference.

2024 Judges

Your 2024 Judges are as follows:

  • Ami Copeland - CEO, Institute of Certified Bookkeepers UK
  • Emma Crawford-Falekaono - Divisional Director Accountancy, IRIS Software Group
  • Sarah Lockhead-MacMillan, General Manager, Highroads
Ami Copeland - CEO
Institute of Certified Bookkeepers UK

'Ami Copeland is CEO of the Institute of Certified Bookkeepers in the UK. Experienced in business and media, Ami's mission is to empower bookkeepers to empower businesses, while raising the standards of bookkeeping around the world and defining the profession’s future to embrace diversity and rapid technological change.

Emma Crawford-Falekāono  - Divisional Director, Accountancy 
IRIS Software Group

As IRIS’ Divisional Director, Accountancy, Emma has a wealth of knowledge and experience in the international Accounting & Bookkeeping industries. With a proven track record leading successful fintech teams in the UK, NZ, AU and North America, and a background as a practicing accountant, Emma is passionate about delivering genuine value to businesses and people. She has previously held senior leadership positions at Xero, Tradify and most recently, Managing Director, EMEA at Ignition. As well as her accounting and tech industry experience, Emma was in the British military and was deployed to the middle east in 2013. She has 2 young sons (Oliver 22 months and Henry 8 months) and a dog named Charlie that travelled from New Zealand to the UK. 

Sarah Lockhead-MacMillan

Body Boost Pro

With more than a decade of experience in networking, business advisory and business finance, Sarah specialises in helping business owners turn their enterprises into shining beacons of growth and profitability. 

Sarah is an accredited business mentor, banking and finance mentor and Published Author.  

Originally from England Sarah and her family came to New Zealand in 2006, living on a rural lifestyle block and thoroughly embracing the life. 

She has spent decades guiding small and large businesses through their journey and working with teams to get results. Her recent role as GM of a manufacturing company takes her away from finance and into her skill set of management. 

2024 Award Sponsors

Bookkeeper of the Year



Bookkeeping Business of the Year

Bookkeeper Trainer of the Year
The Gayle Buchanan Memorial Trophy


Bookkeeping Employee of the Year

Emerging Bookkeeper of the Year

Service to Bookkeeping Award


Sustainable Business of the Year


Community Contributor of the Year